‘Auld Lang Syne’ must be foreign for ‘don’t know the words’

The new year is here. The year that, since I was old enough to recognize both my favorite number and the future, I have been waiting to arrive. The funny part is, while I was waiting for the year to get here, I never knew I would actually get here. But, now that it is, it seems like a very good year.

Most people I know about would label 2010 a bastard. It took and took and rebelled and robbed and probably poked someone in the eye a few times. Certainly the world was filled with relief when the countd0wn began. Recession, mortgages, unemployment, Justin Bieber, and airport security. If 2010 was a person, I know more than a few people who would have no qualms engaging in an extreme round of fisticuffs with him.

However, as I look towards the next year, something in me believes it is a year of hope. Not the cheesy, talked-about-in-every-other-song hope, but true hope. I believe it will be a year that will require action, but will not return void once action is taken. It is like God is looking down, and asking people all over the world ‘Will you take this year for Me? Will you take the land that I promised you?’ And for those who step out and do something, I think they will be surprised how fast that nervous first step soon turns into an emboldened sprint into the unknown.

For me, there are many areas in my own life which I know I am going to take. Areas that, until now, have always been great ‘that’s nice’ scenery in the background of my life, but now are approaching me quickly in the form of a summit. Suddenly the places I wanted to go but seemed so far away are within my reach.

My health. My financial and residential independence. My musical ability. My social network.

Four gigantic mountains that, until just a few weeks ago, were always things I talked about doing, or dreamed about accomplishing when I made it. As it turns out, I have a better chance of making it when I make it. These are all things that I will take on this year, with a plan, and one foot in front of the other.

I already had a huge boost in the health department. I finished Phase 2 of the HCG diet, and I lost 45 pounds in 35 days. Using the quick math, that’s roughly 1.3 pounds a day. Which ain’t too shabby at all. However, I don’t want to get in the habit of doing this all the time to lose the weight. I mean, sure, it requires a lot of discipline to stay on that diet, but I’d rather lose weight by gaining muscle. So, it was fun, but now it’s time to start working at it.

Still, I am very confident that I will be different going in to this year than when I leave. I don’t know where I’ll be, but I know I’ll be on a good path towards the life I want. I suppose that it’s less about keeping my New Year’s Resolutions, and more about keeping my New Year’s Resolve.

Also, whatever I do November 11th at 11:11, you better believe it will be amazing.

~B.

This entry was posted in Brain. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

